During most traffic stops, the only real risk that people face is financial loss and points added to their driving record. However, when the police officer suspects that a driver is impaired by alcohol and/or drugs, the potential consequences that driver faces increase substantially.
Allegations of impaired driving can lead to criminal charges, jail time, fines and probation. Most drunk driving arrests will also mean that you immediately lose your driver’s license. What are the licensing consequences of a driving under the influence (DUI) charge in Nebraska?
Drivers lose their license at the time of their arrest
The license suspension program for DUIs in Nebraska is an administrative one. You will lose your license right away after a DUI arrest in most cases, although some drivers can qualify for a temporary license that lets them drive for 15 days. The administrative suspension of your license usually doesn’t involve the courts at all.
After a first DUI arrest, you will lose your license for 180 days. If you fail a second breath test within 15 years of your first offense, you will lose your license for a year. That is the same penalty you face for refusing a chemical breath test.
Chemical breath tests are unreliable, and officers can make mistakes when they perform the tests and record the results. Drivers hoping to avoid the loss of their license may need to both go to a hearing about their license and also defend against the DUI charges that result from the traffic stop. Learning the penalties can inspire you to fight your DUI charge.