Addressing Common DUI Questions
Being arrested for DUI can turn your world upside down. Many people who are arrested for DUI have never been in trouble with the law before and simply made an error in judgment. During this time, it is important to be armed with answers to your questions and the information needed to make educated decisions regarding your case.
At Whelan Law Office, our attorneys take the time to make sure each client fully understands his or her rights, as well as all options available. To learn more about your case and how we can create a DUI defense tailored to your situation, please contact our Omaha, Nebraska, law firm today.
What Kind Of Penalties To Expect From DUI Court
Some of the most common DUI-related questions we receive include:
Will I Lose My License?
If this is your first DUI, you will likely lose your license for up to two months. If this is your second offense, you are likely looking at a one-year license suspension. A third offense could cost you your license for up to 15 years.
Am I Going To Jail For My DUI?
There is the possibility of jail time, even on a first offense. First-time DUI offenders can face anywhere from one week to 60 days in jail. A second-time offender could be required to serve up to a year in jail.
How Much Will A DUI Cost Me?
DUI convictions result in serious fines. A first-time conviction can cost you up to $500 in fines and additional costs. A second conviction is up to $1,000.
Will I Be Required To Drive With An Ignition Interlock Device?
First-time offenders are not required to install an IID on their vehicles. Repeat offenders almost always face the requirement of an IID installation and use for a significant period of time.
The state of Nebraska takes drinking and driving seriously. As you can see, the penalties are harsh and designed to prevent repeat offenders. If you have been arrested and charged with drunk driving it is critical that you have a DUI lawyer who is committed to fighting for your rights and helping you avoid the worst of sentencing.